MCCC Knowledge Base

Blackboard - Edit Mode and Student Preview

2017

Blackboard —Edit Mode and Student Preview

 

You can turn the Edit Mode on and off to view your available/visible course content and you can use the Enter Student Preview button to review the course content and experience your course exactly as your students do.

In the top right corner of your course you can click the Edit Mode button to turn the Edit Mode on and off.

When Edit Mode is ON, you see all the course content and the editing controls for each item. Edit Mode OFF hides the editing controls but still displays any content that would normally be hidden from a student. Also, it doesn’t enable you to see student-only content, such as My Grades.

 

Enter Student Preview is another button you can click in the top right corner of your Blackboard course.  

While in student preview mode, you can do the following student activities:

  • Submit assignments and take tests
  • Create blog and discussion posts
  • Create journal and wiki entries
  • View student tools, such as My Grades

 

Enter Student Preview Mode

To enter student preview mode, click the Enter Student Preview button, at the top-right corner of your course. 

Student preview creates a student account, called the preview user account, logs you in as that student and enrolls you in the current course. When you enter student preview mode, the student preview bar appears at the top of every page. The bar displays the text "Student Preview mode is ON" and has Settings and Exit Preview functions.

When you enter student preview mode and are logged in to your course with the preview user account, your preview user appears in the course roster and is visible to all students enrolled in the course.

As a preview user, Blackboard Learn captures all the data associated with your activities, such as submitted assignments and discussion posts. In fact, other students can interact with your preview user. For example, they can reply to your posts as though you were another student enrolled in the course.

 

Exit and Delete Your Preview User Account

 

 

 

Click Exit Preview to exit the student preview. You have two options when exiting:

  1. Delete the preview user and all data (Default): This will delete anything you submitted or completed as a student in student preview.
  2. Keep the preview user and all date: This will keep anything you submitted or completed as a student in student preview. For example, if you submitted an assignment as a student in student preview, then it will appear in your Grade Center under YourLastName_PreviewUser.

Click Continue when you are finished. 

Note: If you leave the course without exiting from student preview, you will return to student preview when you return to the course.

 

 

Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Name
Email
Related Articles RSS Feed
Grade Center InTouch Discussion
Viewed 4672 times since Mon, Jan 9, 2017
Students - Using Blackboard Collaborate
Viewed 2695 times since Fri, Dec 5, 2014
Blackboard - Notifications
Viewed 2413 times since Tue, May 10, 2016
Adding Comments to a Google Doc
Viewed 839 times since Fri, Sep 29, 2017
Uploading and Opening a Word Document in Google Drive
Viewed 798 times since Fri, Sep 29, 2017
Students - Blackboard Calendar
Viewed 3522 times since Fri, Nov 7, 2014
Faculty - Making your Course Available or Unavailable
Viewed 3935 times since Thu, Jul 31, 2014
Adding Course Evaluations as a Tool Link in Blackboard
Viewed 2866 times since Thu, Apr 16, 2015
Blackboard - Qwickly Attendance - Setup and Take Attendance
Viewed 4191 times since Wed, Jun 22, 2016
Blackboard Groups - InTouch Discussion
Viewed 1173 times since Thu, Jun 8, 2017

Need Help?