MCCC Knowledge Base

Software Updates on College Owned Windows Computers

The following information pertains to all College owned, Windows OS computers.

The College’s IT Department manages the software installed on all campus computers. To maintain secure and current software configurations, IT regularly deploys updates and patches. Software vendors typically release patches on a regular schedule (monthly, quarterly, etc.) and additionally when a critical vulnerability is discovered. IT staff test all patches in a controlled environment and then deploy to all College owned computers. When available, software updates and patches will be automated without any interaction from the end user.

Software patch and update deployments are made available for a period of 7 days to permit the individual user to schedule installation (and system restart, if necessary). If the user does not take any action, patches and updates will be automatically installed (and computer rebooted, if necessary) at the end of the 7 day period. 

Initial Notification

Once the computer receives updates, you will be prompted with the following prompt from the system tray. You may click this message to take action. If you choose not to take immediate action you can later return to the system tray icon 

From the notification or system tray icon, you may select the option to apply all changes now or apply changes outside business hours. If you select the option to install outside of business hours, the updates will install after 10 PM and before 5 AM, assuming the device is powered on at that time.

Deadline

If you do not install updates prior to the deadline, the system will automatically install all outstanding updates and notify you from the system tray.

Restart and Final Notification

If the system requires a restart to complete installation of the updates, you will be prompted with a notification that the system will restart in a set amount of time, typically 4 hours.

Clicking the balloon notification allows you to review the system restart timer and take action to "restart" or "hide". Hiding the dialogue box puts an icon in the system tray that you can revisit at a later time.

Users will receive a final notification 30 minutes prior to the scheduled system restart. This notice cannot be hidden and is intended to provide you advance warning that the system will automatically shut down and restart. Users should take steps to save all work and restart their system immediately.

0 (0)
Article Rating (No Votes)
Rate this article
Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Name
Email
Related Articles RSS Feed
What is Anti-Malware?
Viewed 2488 times since Mon, Jul 18, 2016
Unblock a File (Windows 10)
Viewed 2345 times since Mon, Nov 21, 2016
GlobalProtect VPN: Overview, Setup, and Troubleshooting
Viewed 727 times since Wed, Nov 22, 2017
LastPass - Password Manager - Mac
Viewed 3408 times since Fri, Jan 8, 2016
What is a Strong Password?
Viewed 2806 times since Mon, Jul 18, 2016
Adding Trusted Sites (Windows 10)
Viewed 29601 times since Mon, Nov 21, 2016
Phishing
Viewed 2942 times since Tue, Oct 28, 2014
Sending an encrypted email to an external email address
Viewed 7094 times since Thu, Mar 12, 2015
Enabling Automatic Updates
Viewed 2505 times since Mon, Jul 18, 2016
Allow sites to run Flash
Viewed 1004 times since Tue, Oct 10, 2017

Need Help?