MCCC Knowledge Base

Students - Getting Started in Google Sites and Drive - Step 2

2017

Nursing Students - Getting Started in Google Sites and Drive - Step 2

You will locate your Nursing Portfolio through your College email account. You will be using Google Sites for your portfolio and Google Drive for your portfolio documents.

Google Sites is a structured Web page-creation tool offered by Google. Google Drive is a location where content is stored, similar to a filing cabinet, with the ability to create, upload, share, and collaborate with others.

The directions below will show you how to change the permissions for your Nursing portfolio documents folder so that your instructors and potential employers may view your documents.

 

STEP 1: Accessing Google and Adding Documents to Google Drive

STEP 2: Changing Sharing Permissions on your Folder in Google Drive

STEP 3: Editing your Portfolio to Insert Documents Directly into the Page

 

STEP 2: Changing Sharing Permissions on your Folder in Google Drive

1. Go to the College website at www.mc3.edu 

 

2. Click the MyMC3 link in the upper right corner to login to the Portal. 

 

3. Click the Quick Links tab in the upper left corner. Then click Email

 

 

4. On your email page, click the 9 squares in the upper right corner located next to your email address. Then click Drive.

 

 

 

 

5. Click once on the name of the folder to select the folder (it will appear blue).

6. Click the Share icon in the upper right corner. 

 

7. Click Get shareable link in the upper right corner.

Note: Sharing automatically selects “Anyone at Montgomery County Community College with the link can view.”

 

 

8. Click the drop down arrow to the right of Anyone at Montgomery County Community College with the link can view.

9. Click More at the bottom of the drop down menu.

 

10. A pop-up window will appear that says Link sharing. In the Link Sharing window click and verify the following items:

a. Click the radio button for On-Anyone with the link

b. Make sure Access is: Anyone (no sign-in required) Can View

11. Click Save in the lower left corner of the Link sharing window.

 

12. You will now see the Share with others window. Make sure that under Link sharing on it says, Anyone with the link can view.

13. Click Done in the lower left corner of the Share with others window.

 

14. You will now see a different icon for your folder. The icon will now have an image of a person on the folder icon. This indicates that it is a shared folder. 

Now your folder and every document inside the folder is a shared document that anyone with the link can view.

 
0 (0)
Article Rating (No Votes)
Rate this article
Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Name
Email
Related Articles RSS Feed
MCCC Knowledge Base Video
Viewed 2778 times since Thu, Mar 9, 2017
Students - Getting Started in Google Sites and Drive - Step 1
Viewed 955 times since Wed, Feb 15, 2017
Students - IT Guide
Viewed 510 times since Thu, Aug 31, 2017
How to install Adobe Acrobat Pro
Viewed 313 times since Tue, Nov 14, 2017
Citrix Setup - Adding and Launching Apps
Viewed 202 times since Wed, Dec 6, 2017
Students - Getting Started in Google Sites and Drive - Step 3
Viewed 2141 times since Wed, Feb 15, 2017

Need Help?