MCCC Knowledge Base

Faculty - Creating Additional Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Sessions

2018

Faculty - Creating Additional Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Sessions

You can create additional Blackboard Collaborate Ultra sessions, in addition to the default session that is created for your course. This article will show you how to create new Blackboard Collaborate sessions. 

The Blackboard Collaborate tool will need to be added to your course prior to creating new sessions. If you have not yet added the Blackboard Collaborate tool to your course, please view the following article:

Adding Blackboard Collaborate Ultra to your Blackboard Course

 

1. Click the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra tool link you created in your course navigation menu to view your dashboard.  
2. Click either one of the Create Session icons.

 

 

Create Session in Blackboard Collaborate

 

3. A pop-up window will appear. Give your session a name. 

You will also be provided with an Anonymous dial-in option that allows students to call from a mobile phone to join the session using the phone number and PIN provided. 

 

 

 

Name of Collaborate session

 

 

 

4. Click Event Details enter the following information:

  • Start Date
  • End Date
  • No end - if an open session
  • Repeat session - if applicable
  • Early Entry - defaults to 15 min before start time
  • Provide a description

 

Event Details

 

 

5. Click Session Details and enter the following information:

  • Default Attendee Role - what access do you want to give students when they enter? By default student access is under Participant. If you want students to have the same capabilities as the Instructor, change the default to Moderator.
  • Recording Options - When sessions are recorded
  • Moderator permissions
  • Participants can - what Participants can do under their access
  • Enable session telephony - Allow students to join by phone
  • Private Chat - Allow Participants to chat privately with Moderators or allow Moderators to supervise all private chats

 

 

Session details

Session Settings 2

 

 

 

 

 

6. Click Save when you are finished.  
7. The session you just created will now appear on your dashboard. 

 

 

 

8. You can change or update your session settings at any time by click the three dots to the far right of your session name. 

Then click Edit Settings. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Attached Files
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Name
Email
Related Articles RSS Feed

Need Help?